Monetization model

Revenue share app marketplaces

Revenue-share marketplaces take a percentage of what you earn in exchange for handling billing and giving you distribution to their audience. Rates vary widely — from a few percent on cloud marketplaces to 15–30% on app stores — and often improve above a revenue threshold or on renewals.

The model bundles payment processing, tax, and reach into one fee, which is worth a lot early on and less as you scale. Compare the effective rate (after thresholds and transaction fees) against the cost of running billing yourself and the incremental distribution the platform actually provides.

Marketplaces
37
Top ecosystems
General SaaS, Helpdesk
Platform is MoR
15 of 37
Model
Revenue share

Marketplaces

37 listed

AppDirect

AppDirect, Inc.

General SaaS

White-label commerce and subscription marketplace platform used by telcos, ISVs, and channel partners to resell B2B SaaS.

OnboardingNegotiated per vendor agreement
CommissionRevenue share negotiated per reseller channel
Advanced· L3

Apple App Store

Apple Inc.

Consumer

Apple's mandatory, review-gated storefront for native iOS, iPadOS, and macOS apps, with Apple as Merchant of Record for paid content.

Onboarding$99/year Apple Developer Program membership
Commission30% standard; 15% under the Small Business Program and on year-two+ subscriptions
Advanced· L3
Developer Tools

Bubble’s official directory for discovering, installing, and publishing plugins that extend Bubble web and native mobile apps.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionBubble retains 25% of Plugin License payments and remits the remainder to the seller.
Advanced· L3

Clio App Directory

Clio (Themis Solutions Inc.)

Helpdesk

Official directory for integrations and legal-technology apps that connect external tools and services with Clio applications.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3

Coupa App Marketplace

Coupa Software, Inc.

General SaaS

Official marketplace for Coupa Partner applications, including certified embedded apps, connectors, and integration components.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3

Partner-gated marketplace of apps, connectors, and AI agents extending Creatio's no-code CRM and workflow-automation platform.

OnboardingMarketplace-partner status required (fees vary)
CommissionPartner commissions cited at 20–50% on bookings; app-developer take-rate not publicly disclosed
Advanced· L3
AI agents

Ecwid App Market

Lightspeed Commerce Inc.

Ecommerce

Ecwid by Lightspeed's App Market, where developers publish OAuth-based embedded apps and connectors to embedded and omnichannel SMB stores.

Onboarding$0 (partner contract required)
CommissionEcwid pays developers 80% of net app revenue (roughly a 20% take)
Advanced· L3
Workspace

Community marketplace for plugins that extend Figma editors and help users customize experiences and automate design-file actions.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Moderate· L2

Front App Marketplace

FrontApp, Inc.

Helpdesk

Front's integrations marketplace for Plugin-SDK side-panel apps and Core/Channels API connectors into its shared-inbox platform, via a tiered partner program.

OnboardingNone to list
CommissionNo storefront cut; partners monetize their own SaaS and via referrals
Moderate· L2
AI agents

Genesys AppFoundry

Genesys Cloud Services, Inc.

Helpdesk

Genesys's enterprise AppFoundry marketplace for contact-center apps, bots, and virtual agents, with OAuth, certification, and Genesys-billed Premium usage models.

OnboardingPartner program participation required (fees vary)
CommissionGenesys Billing collects for Premium apps under negotiated rev-share (exact terms not public)
Enterprise· L4
AI agents
Cloud

Google's marketplace for deploying and buying third-party software that runs on Google Cloud, billed through the customer's cloud account.

OnboardingNone to list (Partner Network membership required)
CommissionAround 3% standard revenue share; reduced (to roughly 1.5%) on large private offers and renewals
Enterprise· L4
AI agents
Consumer

Android's dominant app store with a $25 one-time fee, policy review, and Google Play Billing as Merchant of Record.

Onboarding$25 one-time developer registration
CommissionHistorically 30% standard / 15% reduced; lower tiers rolling out in 2026 (verify current rates)
Advanced· L3

Gorgias App Store

Gorgias, Inc.

Helpdesk

Gorgias's App Store for embedded ecommerce-helpdesk apps and API connectors, with OAuth2 for public apps and an AI-agent-centric platform.

OnboardingNone to list
CommissionPartner program pays revenue for referrals and integrations (exact terms not published)
Moderate· L2
AI agents

Intercom App Store

Intercom, Inc.

Helpdesk

Intercom's marketplace for Canvas Kit-embedded Inbox/Messenger apps and Fin AI-agent integrations, with OAuth for public apps and a partner program.

OnboardingNone to list
CommissionApp Partner Program terms are negotiated, not publicly published
Advanced· L3
AI agents

JetBrains Marketplace

JetBrains s.r.o.

Developer Tools

JetBrains' official plugin marketplace for its IDE family, with built-in paid sales and a 15% commission as merchant of record.

Onboarding$0
Commission15% of the sale price (contractually capped at a maximum of 25%)
Moderate· L2
AI agents
General SaaS

Official directory where developers publish integrations that connect third-party apps and services with Klaviyo.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3

Microsoft Azure Marketplace

Microsoft Corporation

Cloud

Microsoft's marketplace for Azure-based infrastructure software and transactable SaaS, billed through the customer's Azure agreement.

OnboardingNo cost to publish
Commission3% marketplace transaction fee on transactable offers (reduced from the former 20%)
Enterprise· L4
AI agents

Microsoft Store

Microsoft Corporation

Consumer

Windows' built-in app store with zero registration fees and optional 15%/12% commerce, or bring-your-own-billing to keep 100%.

Onboarding$0 (registration fees removed in 2026)
Commission0% with your own commerce; 15% for apps and 12% for games via Microsoft commerce
Moderate· L2
Healthcare API and application marketplace

A healthcare API marketplace for third-party applications extending NextGen Enterprise across clinical care, patient access, interoperability, and operational workflows.

OnboardingNot publicly specified. NextGen states that Patient Access app development and Open Access development or deployment have no fee, while the API Distributor Program may have fees based on data scope or other requirements.
CommissionNot publicly specified.
Advanced· L3

Odoo Apps

Odoo S.A.

CRM

Large module marketplace for the open-source Odoo ERP/CRM suite, publishing free and paid apps, themes, and connectors per Odoo version.

Onboarding$0 (free Odoo and VCS account required)
CommissionOdoo takes a cut of paid-app sales (developer take-rate not publicly disclosed)
Moderate· L2

PrestaShop Addons

PrestaShop SA

Ecommerce

The official marketplace for the self-hosted open-source PrestaShop platform, selling PHP modules and themes that install directly into merchants' stores.

Onboarding€99 per addon, valid 12 months
CommissionSellers earn roughly 60–83% of each sale ex-tax depending on channel
Advanced· L3

RingCentral App Gallery

RingCentral, Inc.

Workspace

RingCentral’s marketplace for 500+ pre-built business integrations, embedded add-ins, bots, and workflow connections across communications and productivity apps.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3

SAP Store

SAP SE

CRM

Enterprise marketplace for SAP-certified apps, extensions, and integrations across SAP's business cloud portfolio.

OnboardingSAP partner program fees vary
CommissionNegotiated per partner agreement
Enterprise· L4
AI agents
Browser

Safari's browser extensions, distributed only as App Store apps under Apple Developer Program terms and full App Review.

Onboarding$99/year Apple Developer Program membership
CommissionStandard App Store terms: 30%, or 15% under the Small Business Program
Advanced· L3

Salesforce AgentExchange

Salesforce, Inc.

CRM

CRM marketplace for apps, components, integrations, and data connectors that extend Salesforce workflows.

OnboardingPartner program fees vary
Commission15% revenue share on AppExchange transactions
Enterprise· L4
AI agents

ServiceNow Store

ServiceNow, Inc.

Helpdesk

Marketplace for ITSM, ITOM, and workflow apps built on the ServiceNow platform.

OnboardingTechnology Partner Program fees vary
CommissionNegotiated per partner agreement
Advanced· L3
AI agents

Setapp

MacPaw Inc.

General SaaS

Curated multi-app subscription platform bundling independent Mac and iOS apps under one monthly fee.

Onboarding$0 to apply; curated acceptance
CommissionRevenue-share pool distributed by usage share, not a fixed per-sale cut
Moderate· L2

Shopify App Store

Shopify Inc.

Ecommerce

The leading marketplace for apps that extend online stores, checkout, merchandising, and merchant operations.

Onboarding$0
Commission0% on first $1M; 15% after
Moderate· L2
AI agents

Snowflake Marketplace

Snowflake Inc.

Cloud

Snowflake's marketplace for data products and Native Apps that run inside a consumer's Snowflake account, with billing handled by Snowflake.

OnboardingNone to become a provider
CommissionA Snowflake transaction fee is deducted from payout (rate not publicly disclosed)
Advanced· L3
AI agents

Talkdesk AppConnect

Talkdesk, Inc.

Helpdesk

Talkdesk's AppConnect marketplace for contact-center apps using Events-API webhooks and per-install OAuth, with certification gates and Autopilot/Copilot AI agents.

OnboardingDeveloper account is request-provisioned (fees vary)
CommissionRev-share terms not publicly documented
Enterprise· L4
AI agents

Twitch Extensions Directory

Twitch Interactive, Inc. (Twitch)

General SaaS

Twitch’s directory and management experience for interactive third-party extensions embedded in Twitch video, channel panels, and mobile surfaces.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3
Cloud

Vercel's marketplace for native integrations that provision and bill third-party backend and AI services through the Vercel dashboard.

OnboardingNone documented
CommissionVercel takes a revenue share on native-integration billing (rate not publicly disclosed)
Advanced· L3
AI agents

Wix App Market

Wix.com Ltd.

Ecommerce

Wix's built-in app store where developers publish OAuth-based embedded apps and widgets to a large base of website and store owners.

Onboarding$0
Commission0% for the first year, then an 80/20 split favoring the developer (after a 2.5% transaction fee)
Advanced· L3
Ecommerce

WordPress-native extension marketplace for stores built on WooCommerce.

Onboarding$0
Commission35-45% on Marketplace sales depending on category
Moderate· L2

Workato

Workato, Inc.

General SaaS

An enterprise iPaaS where SDK-built connectors and recipes distribute across a large B2B catalog and embeddable, white-label integration marketplaces.

OnboardingEnterprise contract (varies)
CommissionEmbed partners can earn 10% of a customer's first-year ARR as Workato credit
Advanced· L3
AI agents

Workday Marketplace

Workday, Inc.

General SaaS

Official Workday catalog for discovering trusted apps, agents, and partner solutions that extend the Workday platform.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3
AI agents

monday.com Marketplace

monday.com Ltd.

CRM

Curated marketplace for embedded apps, workflow recipes, connectors, and AI agents on monday's Work OS and CRM, with native billing.

Onboarding$0
Commission85/15 split favoring the developer after roughly $200K lifetime revenue (approximate)
Advanced· L3
AI agents

Frequently asked questions

Which app marketplaces support revenue share?

37 in this directory: AppDirect, Apple App Store, Bubble Plugin Marketplace, Clio App Directory, Coupa App Marketplace, Creatio Marketplace, Ecwid App Market, Figma Community Plugins, Front App Marketplace, Genesys AppFoundry, Google Cloud Marketplace, Google Play Store, Gorgias App Store, Intercom App Store, JetBrains Marketplace, Klaviyo App Marketplace, Microsoft Azure Marketplace, Microsoft Store, NextGen Healthcare API Marketplace, Odoo Apps, PrestaShop Addons, RingCentral App Gallery, SAP Store, Safari Extensions, Salesforce AgentExchange, ServiceNow Store, Setapp, Shopify App Store, Snowflake Marketplace, Talkdesk AppConnect, Twitch Extensions Directory, Vercel Marketplace, Wix App Market, WooCommerce Marketplace, Workato, Workday Marketplace, monday.com Marketplace.

How does revenue share work?

Revenue-share marketplaces take a percentage of what you earn in exchange for handling billing and giving you distribution to their audience. Rates vary widely — from a few percent on cloud marketplaces to 15–30% on app stores — and often improve above a revenue threshold or on renewals.