Monetization model

Usage-based pricing app marketplaces

Usage-based marketplaces let you bill on consumption — per query, per event, per API call, per unit of compute — rather than a flat subscription. Cloud and data marketplaces (AWS, Azure, Google Cloud, Snowflake) are built around this, metering usage and drawing it down against the customer’s existing cloud commitment.

Metered billing aligns cost with value and eases enterprise procurement, but it requires you to instrument and report usage accurately to the platform’s billing APIs. Choose it when your product’s value scales with volume and your buyers prefer consumption pricing on a consolidated bill.

Marketplaces
48
Top ecosystems
Cloud, General SaaS
Platform is MoR
24 of 48
Model
Usage-based pricing

Marketplaces

48 listed
General SaaS

An e-commerce marketplace where HR applications and integrations connect with ADP products and data.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3

AWS Marketplace

Amazon Web Services, Inc.

Cloud

Marketplace for deployable SaaS, AMIs, containers, and data products that run on or alongside AWS.

Onboarding$0 to list; enterprise contracts vary
CommissionAWS marketplace fee (typically 3%) on transacted revenue
Enterprise· L4
AI agents

AppDirect

AppDirect, Inc.

General SaaS

White-label commerce and subscription marketplace platform used by telcos, ISVs, and channel partners to resell B2B SaaS.

OnboardingNegotiated per vendor agreement
CommissionRevenue share negotiated per reseller channel
Advanced· L3

Apple App Store

Apple Inc.

Consumer

Apple's mandatory, review-gated storefront for native iOS, iPadOS, and macOS apps, with Apple as Merchant of Record for paid content.

Onboarding$99/year Apple Developer Program membership
Commission30% standard; 15% under the Small Business Program and on year-two+ subscriptions
Advanced· L3

Atlassian Marketplace

Atlassian Corporation

Developer Tools

Marketplace for Jira, Confluence, and Bitbucket apps, actions, and integrations used by software teams.

Onboarding$0
Commission15% on paid app sales
Advanced· L3
AI agents

BigCommerce Apps

BigCommerce Inc.

Ecommerce

Marketplace for apps that extend BigCommerce storefronts, checkout, and merchant back-office workflows.

Onboarding$0
Commission0% direct; developer bills separately
Moderate· L2

Bitrix24 Market

Bitrix, Inc.

CRM

Moderated app marketplace for the Bitrix24 SMB CRM and collaboration suite, using OAuth-based REST apps monetized via in-app purchases.

Onboarding$0
CommissionOnly free apps may be listed; monetization is via in-app purchases handled by the developer
Advanced· L3
AI agents
Workspace

Canva’s marketplace for apps that extend Canva with creative, media, workflow, publishing, and data-integration capabilities.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3

Clio App Directory

Clio (Themis Solutions Inc.)

Helpdesk

Official directory for integrations and legal-technology apps that connect external tools and services with Clio applications.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3

Coupa App Marketplace

Coupa Software, Inc.

General SaaS

Official marketplace for Coupa Partner applications, including certified embedded apps, connectors, and integration components.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3

Databricks Marketplace

Databricks, Inc.

Cloud

A catalog for discovering and securely sharing data products, datasets, notebooks, dashboards, and other data assets through Databricks.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3

DigitalOcean Marketplace

DigitalOcean Holdings, Inc.

Cloud

DigitalOcean's marketplace of 1-Click Droplet and Kubernetes app images plus SaaS add-ons, deployable and billed through DigitalOcean's cloud.

OnboardingNone to list a 1-Click App
Commission1-Click Apps: customer pays for underlying compute; paid SaaS add-on terms vary
Advanced· L3
AI agents

Ecwid App Market

Lightspeed Commerce Inc.

Ecommerce

Ecwid by Lightspeed's App Market, where developers publish OAuth-based embedded apps and connectors to embedded and omnichannel SMB stores.

Onboarding$0 (partner contract required)
CommissionEcwid pays developers 80% of net app revenue (roughly a 20% take)
Advanced· L3

Freshworks Marketplace

Freshworks Inc.

Helpdesk

Marketplace for apps that extend Freshdesk, Freshservice, and other Freshworks customer-service products.

Onboarding$0
Commission0% direct; billing handled by developer
Moderate· L2

Genesys AppFoundry

Genesys Cloud Services, Inc.

Helpdesk

Genesys's enterprise AppFoundry marketplace for contact-center apps, bots, and virtual agents, with OAuth, certification, and Genesys-billed Premium usage models.

OnboardingPartner program participation required (fees vary)
CommissionGenesys Billing collects for Premium apps under negotiated rev-share (exact terms not public)
Enterprise· L4
AI agents

GitHub Marketplace

GitHub, Inc.

Developer Tools

Marketplace for GitHub Apps, Actions, and CI/CD integrations used across software development workflows.

Onboarding$0
Commission25% on paid Marketplace apps (waived first $1M in some programs)
Moderate· L2
AI agents

GoHighLevel Marketplace

GoHighLevel (HighLevel)

CRM

Marketplace for apps and integrations that extend GoHighLevel marketing, sales, CRM, automation, and related platform capabilities.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionHighLevel currently deducts no commission and developers receive the entire customer payment; agency resale markups can change the end-user price.
Advanced· L3
AI agents
Cloud

Google's marketplace for deploying and buying third-party software that runs on Google Cloud, billed through the customer's cloud account.

OnboardingNone to list (Partner Network membership required)
CommissionAround 3% standard revenue share; reduced (to roughly 1.5%) on large private offers and renewals
Enterprise· L4
AI agents
Consumer

Android's dominant app store with a $25 one-time fee, policy review, and Google Play Billing as Merchant of Record.

Onboarding$25 one-time developer registration
CommissionHistorically 30% standard / 15% reduced; lower tiers rolling out in 2026 (verify current rates)
Advanced· L3
Workspace

Marketplace for add-ons and apps that extend Gmail, Docs, Sheets, Drive, and Google Workspace admin.

Onboarding$0
Commission0% direct; billing handled by developer
Advanced· L3
AI agents
CRM

Marketplace for apps that integrate with HubSpot CRM, Marketing, Sales, Service, and Operations Hubs.

Onboarding$0
Commission0% direct; paid apps use external billing
Moderate· L2
AI agents
Developer Tools

A searchable Hub for discovering, sharing, versioning, and using machine-learning models.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3
AI agents
General SaaS

Official directory where developers publish integrations that connect third-party apps and services with Klaviyo.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3

Microsoft AppSource

Microsoft Corporation

Cloud

Business-app marketplace spanning Dynamics 365, Power Platform, and Azure-hosted SaaS offers.

OnboardingPartner Center registration fee
Commission20% marketplace service fee on transactable offers
Enterprise· L4
AI agents

Microsoft Azure Marketplace

Microsoft Corporation

Cloud

Microsoft's marketplace for Azure-based infrastructure software and transactable SaaS, billed through the customer's Azure agreement.

OnboardingNo cost to publish
Commission3% marketplace transaction fee on transactable offers (reduced from the former 20%)
Enterprise· L4
AI agents

Microsoft Teams Marketplace

Microsoft Corporation

Workspace

Directory for Teams apps, bots, tabs, and message extensions that extend Microsoft 365 collaboration.

Onboarding$0
Commission20% marketplace service fee on transactable offers
Advanced· L3
AI agents
Ecommerce

A marketplace for discovering certified third-party and NetSuite-built applications that extend NetSuite functionality.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3
Healthcare API and application marketplace

A healthcare API marketplace for third-party applications extending NextGen Enterprise across clinical care, patient access, interoperability, and operational workflows.

OnboardingNot publicly specified. NextGen states that Patient Access app development and Open Access development or deployment have no fee, while the API Distributor Program may have fees based on data scope or other requirements.
CommissionNot publicly specified.
Advanced· L3

Oracle Cloud Marketplace

Oracle Corporation

Cloud

Marketplace for solutions built on or integrated with Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI) and Oracle Fusion apps.

OnboardingOracle PartnerNetwork fees vary
CommissionNegotiated per partner agreement
Enterprise· L4

Pipedream

Pipedream, Inc.

General SaaS

A developer-first, source-available automation registry where Node.js components and a hosted MCP layer distribute across thousands of apps and AI agents.

Onboarding$0 (free to list)
CommissionNone (no partner rev-share; Pipedream monetizes execution credits and Connect usage)
Advanced· L3
AI agents

Pipedrive Marketplace

Pipedrive Inc.

General SaaS

Marketplace for apps and integrations that extend the Pipedrive sales CRM.

Onboarding$0
Commission20% on Marketplace-billed subscriptions
Moderate· L2
Developer Tools

Browse, discover, and run AI models from Replicate through a searchable catalog, curated collections, official models, and API-oriented use cases.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Moderate· L2
AI agents

RingCentral App Gallery

RingCentral, Inc.

Workspace

RingCentral’s marketplace for 500+ pre-built business integrations, embedded add-ins, bots, and workflow connections across communications and productivity apps.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3
Browser

Safari's browser extensions, distributed only as App Store apps under Apple Developer Program terms and full App Review.

Onboarding$99/year Apple Developer Program membership
CommissionStandard App Store terms: 30%, or 15% under the Small Business Program
Advanced· L3

Shopify App Store

Shopify Inc.

Ecommerce

The leading marketplace for apps that extend online stores, checkout, merchandising, and merchant operations.

Onboarding$0
Commission0% on first $1M; 15% after
Moderate· L2
AI agents

Slack App Directory

Slack Technologies, LLC

Workspace

Directory of bots, slash commands, and workflow apps that extend Slack workspaces.

Onboarding$0
Commission0% direct; billing handled by developer
Moderate· L2
AI agents

Snowflake Marketplace

Snowflake Inc.

Cloud

Snowflake's marketplace for data products and Native Apps that run inside a consumer's Snowflake account, with billing handled by Snowflake.

OnboardingNone to become a provider
CommissionA Snowflake transaction fee is deducted from payout (rate not publicly disclosed)
Advanced· L3
AI agents

Talkdesk AppConnect

Talkdesk, Inc.

Helpdesk

Talkdesk's AppConnect marketplace for contact-center apps using Events-API webhooks and per-install OAuth, with certification gates and Autopilot/Copilot AI agents.

OnboardingDeveloper account is request-provisioned (fees vary)
CommissionRev-share terms not publicly documented
Enterprise· L4
AI agents

Trello Power-Ups

Atlassian Corporation

Productivity

Iframe-based board and card add-ons for Trello, published from the admin panel with API-key plus OAuth tokens and third-party monetization.

Onboarding$0
CommissionNo native billing; monetization runs through third-party platforms (Optro, Salable)
Moderate· L2
AI agents
Cloud

A Twilio catalog for discovering, evaluating, and integrating partner applications and services that extend Twilio APIs.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Moderate· L2

Twitch Extensions Directory

Twitch Interactive, Inc. (Twitch)

General SaaS

Twitch’s directory and management experience for interactive third-party extensions embedded in Twitch video, channel panels, and mobile surfaces.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3
Cloud

Vercel's marketplace for native integrations that provision and bill third-party backend and AI services through the Vercel dashboard.

OnboardingNone documented
CommissionVercel takes a revenue share on native-integration billing (rate not publicly disclosed)
Advanced· L3
AI agents

Wix App Market

Wix.com Ltd.

Ecommerce

Wix's built-in app store where developers publish OAuth-based embedded apps and widgets to a large base of website and store owners.

Onboarding$0
Commission0% for the first year, then an 80/20 split favoring the developer (after a 2.5% transaction fee)
Advanced· L3

Workday Marketplace

Workday, Inc.

General SaaS

Official Workday catalog for discovering trusted apps, agents, and partner solutions that extend the Workday platform.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3
AI agents

Xero App Store

Xero Limited

General SaaS

Xero’s official marketplace for discovering, evaluating, and connecting third-party apps that extend Xero for small businesses and accounting practices.

OnboardingNot publicly specified
CommissionNot publicly specified
Advanced· L3

Zendesk Marketplace

Zendesk, Inc.

Helpdesk

Marketplace for apps and integrations that extend Zendesk Support, Chat, and Sell.

Onboarding$0
Commission0% direct; billing handled by developer
Moderate· L2
AI agents

Zoom App Marketplace

Zoom Communications, Inc.

Workspace

Marketplace for apps, bots, and in-meeting experiences built on the Zoom platform.

Onboarding$0
Commission0% direct; billing handled by developer
Moderate· L2
AI agents

monday.com Marketplace

monday.com Ltd.

CRM

Curated marketplace for embedded apps, workflow recipes, connectors, and AI agents on monday's Work OS and CRM, with native billing.

Onboarding$0
Commission85/15 split favoring the developer after roughly $200K lifetime revenue (approximate)
Advanced· L3
AI agents

Frequently asked questions

Which app marketplaces support usage-based pricing?

48 in this directory: ADP Marketplace, AWS Marketplace, AppDirect, Apple App Store, Atlassian Marketplace, BigCommerce Apps, Bitrix24 Market, Canva Apps Marketplace, Clio App Directory, Coupa App Marketplace, Databricks Marketplace, DigitalOcean Marketplace, Ecwid App Market, Freshworks Marketplace, Genesys AppFoundry, GitHub Marketplace, GoHighLevel Marketplace, Google Cloud Marketplace, Google Play Store, Google Workspace Marketplace, HubSpot App Marketplace, Hugging Face Hub Models, Klaviyo App Marketplace, Microsoft AppSource, Microsoft Azure Marketplace, Microsoft Teams Marketplace, NetSuite SuiteApp Marketplace, NextGen Healthcare API Marketplace, Oracle Cloud Marketplace, Pipedream, Pipedrive Marketplace, Replicate Explore, RingCentral App Gallery, Safari Extensions, Shopify App Store, Slack App Directory, Snowflake Marketplace, Talkdesk AppConnect, Trello Power-Ups, Twilio Marketplace, Twitch Extensions Directory, Vercel Marketplace, Wix App Market, Workday Marketplace, Xero App Store, Zendesk Marketplace, Zoom App Marketplace, monday.com Marketplace.

How does usage-based pricing work?

Usage-based marketplaces let you bill on consumption — per query, per event, per API call, per unit of compute — rather than a flat subscription. Cloud and data marketplaces (AWS, Azure, Google Cloud, Snowflake) are built around this, metering usage and drawing it down against the customer’s existing cloud commitment.